Surigao del Sur I Electric Cooperative, Inc. (SURSECO I) is an electric distribution utility created and organized by virtue of Presidential Decree No. 269, as amended. It has been in service since July 20, 1971 when it obtained its registration with the National Electrification Administration, a government agency specially created to implement and supervise the total electrification program of the government.

It serves the franchise of one (1) city and four (4) municipalities within the first district of Surigao del Sur namely: Bislig City, Barobo, Hinatuan, Tagbina and Lingig with a total of 32,955 active service connections as of December 31, 2008. Committed to fulfill its mandate of total electrification, it has completely energized the 138 barangays within its coverage area and is relentlessly pursuing the energization of farflung sitios through government subsidies.

As an electric distribution utility, it draws power from the National Power Corporation (NPC) through the transmission facilities of the National Grid Corporation of the Philippines (NGCP). It operates and distributes power to its customers with three (3) sub-stations located in Barangays Tabon and San Fernando, all of Bislig City, and in the Municipality of Barobo.

Customer satisfaction is SURSECO I’s primary concern thus technology innovations are in place. The Psion Read and Bill System designed for an automatic printing and delivery of electric bill immediately after the reading of the meter; and, the fully automated Tellering System which speed-up the collection process are just some of the technology installed in order to offer prompt and accurate service.

Gaining the Category A+ (the highest performance award accorded by NEA to electric cooperatives) and classified as Extra Large distribution utility as well as being acclaimed as “Outstanding Electric Cooperative” evidently bespeak of its commitment and fervor to perform with utmost professionalism and excellence.